Anonymous
map-marker Weatherford, Texas

Suspicious

To me any company that ask for money up front to just consult. Is suspicious to me. It is always dubious when people asks for $$$ and give you nothing in return.
View full review

User's recommendation: Do your research first

Donald F Tjr

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
|

This person supports our platform.
Get a badge ›

Supporter

Difficult to get things going, except for the money upfront!

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

Paid my enrollment fee ($2500) to remodel my ready to build attic. Oklahoma City Ubuildit wanted another $3600 to hire a Plans Co.

to draw plans for these four walls and ceiling. Stating I needed these plans for City Permits. I was literally able to sketch the plan on a napkin with the help of our city engineer, and secretary. I had a permit in one day.

Have not received a call back in several weeks, at this time, I have no plans to use their services any longer.

I have requested my money back, but they throw up the agreement that I signed and say I have no refund coming. We will see, I have retained an attorney and request each of you, who are in the same situation, that are interested in a class action suit to please email me at donf2012@***.com for a possible class action lawsuit.

View full review
Loss:
$2500

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Everything that Ubuilt provides can be done by you. Just contact your City Plans and Engineering Department. artment

Erin C Cwm

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

Stole my $2,500

I would not let this company build a dog house. I don't know how they are even allowed to operate. I am spreading the word all over Facebook, my hospital I work for, my church and anyone who needs a house. This POS company does nothing but take your money give you a notebook then you never hear from a soul again. I even contacted News Channel 4 to tell them how they stole my money. They can't wait to talk to me. Oklahoma city Ubuild it U asked for it.
View full review
Loss:
$2500
Cons:
  • Unethical business tactics
  • Lied
  • Flat out suck

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Future customers? there shouldn't be any after I speak to the news. If I could give this company a negative 10 and no stars I would,

Samantha D Tuf

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

I need someone in charge.

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Updated by user Aug 20, 2021

I haven't heard from anyone from this company. They haven't returned phonecalls or emails.

It's going to cost me 300.00 dollars to get the washer reservoir fixed...and that doesn't include the cost of my low beam thats pushed in.

Pretty *** I would never have a house built by them...if they can't correct a 300.00 dollar error of incompetent employees on the road, you think they'll fix potentially thousands of dollars in errors building houses ??? No..they'll just ignore you.

Original review Jul 20, 2021
Hello. I need to speak with someone in charge. Not Damaris. She doesn't return phone calls and ignores emails. My vehicle was hit by a spare tire that came off one of your trucks 3 or 4 weeks ago now . I would like a better answer then the the one Damaris gave me that all spare tires are accounted for..because I told her they got off at the next exit to probably turn around and get there tire. When I asked her for someone else, she ignored me and hasnt responded. My phone number and email are included. Please contact me so we can get this resolved.
View full review

User's recommendation: Don't ignore people. Your incompetent driver could have caused a serious injury to someone in a smaller vehicle.

Anonymous
map-marker Flanders, Connecticut

Complaint . . RIP off

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

The Greenville UBuildit is an absolute scam and rip-off. I hired Robert Raditz as a "consultant", what I got was an overprices subcontractor referral service.

If you read the contract, he takes no responsibility or commitment to do anything - not responsible for accuracy of the budget, not responsible for inspecting, not responsible for quality of workmanship, no specifications on how often he will be onsite, no commitment to how often he will be available for "consultation". Robert didn't review the plans and grossly (more than $100K) underestimated the budget. He made recommendations that were ridiculous and uninformed. He showed up generally just to get paid.

At one point I called, texted, and Emailed him and got no response for four days. I fired him after the foundation went in after I saw how this was going. Best decision I made. Save yourself some time, money, and grief.

Hire a full service builder or hire someone else as a "consultant".

You'll pay between $500 and $1000 a week (depending on home size) for Robert Raditz - and what you get is not worth a quarter of that. Anyone can call me to get the scoop on this rip-off (803-634-****) and I'll share the experience I had.

View full review

User's recommendation: Stay away from this company

RC I

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Mckinney, Texas

Cheated and lied to

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
The worst experience I have ever had with a company. Delays, lies, broken promises, incompetent staff, and fraud. Staff in Texas and Oklahoma are unqualified and will get your design and construction wrong. Some of their past businesses have been shutdown by the State, and some locations are franchised. They keep changing and adding company names, but the registered agent and addresses are always the same. They have numerous negative reviews on google, Better Business Bureau, Yelp, Facebook, Joyrate, and Contractor review sites. GOOD NEWS UPDATE: Ubuildit locations across the country have been slowly but surely shutting down. Good job to the customers, lawyers, judges, and local BBB's! And the main Dallas location has been closed!
View full review
Loss:
$15000
Cons:
  • Unethical business tactics
  • Lied
  • Mike robares family violence assault arrest

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: run away

3 comments
Guest

They sued me just to add insult to injury.

RC I

Total scam artists at every UbuildIt location

Guest
reply icon Replying to comment of RC I

You are giving a review of an office that never worked with you

View more comments (2)
Anonymous

Wonderful Experience

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
I had a wonderful experience with UBuildIt. They were very organized and help me to get that way which believe me is a chore. They were there when I needed them. The entire staff was knowledgeable with what they were talking about. They even helped me save some more money off of my budget which is awesome.
View full review

User's recommendation: Highly recommend

Anonymous

They STOLE $6,000.00 only $3,000.00 iApril 28 2020 he wrote reciept dated for correct date but said it was for plans designs & Speak meetings but as I said I am HEALING FOR KNEE REPLACEMENT I PAID

his company used my daughter to smooth talk her the owner Bob was OWNER My Daughter IS supervisor at IC BUS of OKLAHOMA aka NAVISTAR LLC!! ON MAY 5, 2020 I GAVE him another $3,000.00 because I couldn't make every meeting they had no handicap access!!I have a broken ankle that can't heal until my knee HEAL!

I have ANXIETY &;DEPRESSION BROUGHT ON BY STRESS OF Dept Of Labor &;amp; Federal; OWCP my work comp I'm on fixed on come and the stole from me took out fireplaces took out rest room public one downstairs removed screen back porch!! They told me the house & we purchased all light fixtures jacuzzi tubs & all other ceiling fans they was only building out side structure!! Help me I pray the COURTS WILL MAKE U BUILD IT give me my money back is now I NEED , TO SUE UBUILD IT MY FULL $6,000.00 they caused me to have a light NERVOUS BREAK DOWN I am requesting money back not the first $3,000.00 it was for plans &. Spe meeting they gave me fake list I had a window & door man tell me not to give UBUILD IT any cash cause they are a SCAMI told him too I have GIVEN him $3,000..00 TOWARDS THEM BUILDING MY HOUSE!!

Totaling $3,000..00 cause I couldn't get around with out walker with wheels & seat!! I haven't been sleeping well not even with my mental state COVIV19 IM in a STATE OF A NATURAL DISASTER United States WIDE!! Help me I am asking for $10,000.00 my MENTAL & PHYSICAL STATE was ABUSED MONEY TAKEN by SCAMMERS I had to seek my daughter for mental stability it's a PANDAMIC my mental & physical state are REAL SO PLEASE HELP ME LET UBUILD IT CAN'T STEAL -&; VERABLY.

& MENTALLY ATTACK MY MIND. I FEEL LIKE ILL NEVER GET MY HOUSE I FEEL HELPLESS I WANT UBUILD IT TO GIVE ME BACK FULL $6,000.00 PLUS $2,000.00 FOR MY MENTAL ANGUISH & PHYSICAL PAIN having to make uncompfortabe physical state.

Keagon piece together a FAKE DOCUMENTS that say the keep the whole $6,000.00 I have copies of all documents & none of the s pieced TOGETHER like the form he made up And attached our signature but I got originals & I got a copy where secretary went into computer ,- told her to back date all information as I can see is his DOCUMENTS UUILD T ID plicedlicedliced photo shop

View full review

Preferred solution: Pay for Mental -& physical & his Father Bob apologies for for asking me Lady what the *** do U.

User's recommendation: t

2 comments
Julina Ifu

None of that rambling made sense.

RC I

All of their offices are like this. Mckinney, Lake Worth, Austin, San Antonio, etc. All run by hardened criminals and thieves that have yet to been in prison.

View more comments (1)
Sherial L

Found them to be honest on projecting price.

I contacted Houston office a couple of years ago, and they were very honest with me that what I had been quoted by a local contractor was VERY UNREASONABLE low ball price. I was angered at the time, but appreciate their honesty, as all bid for first part of my project are coming in at over 3 times what local contractor had told me the whole project would cost. Wish I had listened to them a couple of years ago, gone with their recommended company to draw plans and proceeded, I would be through. I thank them for their honesty.
View full review
Reason of review:
Honest with me that my quoted price was not realistic (too low)
Mike Bxx
map-marker Schertz, Texas

RUN AWAY

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Ubuildit - RUN AWAY
Ubuildit - RUN AWAY - Image 2
Ubuildit - RUN AWAY - Image 3
Ubuildit - RUN AWAY - Image 4

It's nice to see Mr. Randolph spew lies on yelp and attempt to save face, but his emails contradict what was said. The facts are that Virgil Seidel doesn't know how to do budgets, effectively communicate without being condescending and belittling. We have still not completed the construction, and are WAY over budget. We have documented evidence supporting the many errors of the contractors and Virgil Seidel, additionally, Tamie Kuhn repeatedly had to be corrected at almost every draw for simple mathematical errors and Mr. Randolph has no idea what my home looks like as he has never set foot on my property nor is he permitted to at this point. Mr. Randolph and his criminal partner Mike Robare of Robare custom homes refused to release our draw unless they got paid for their last draw which was on the draw as a line item...If you like being lied to, talked down to, spending thousands of your own money out of pocket in addition to the loan you're getting then Mike Robare of Robare Custom Homes, Principal Custom Homes, Ubuildit Schertz LLC, and several other LLCs are your place. Below are some of Lee's Comments about framing issues, and budget trenching issues. Perhaps we'll build a website were myself and others can share their documented actual experiences.

On May 31, 2018, at 10:06 AM, Lee Randolph ******@ubuildit.com wrote:

Mike,

I told Rolando that you were going to pay him minus deductions. I suggested that he communicate with you on the amount and timeframe. Liens and lawsuits are seldom beneficial to anyone and both could be prevented with communication.

From: Lee Randolph

Subject: FW: Invoice 907 from R & J Construction Inc.

Date: May 25, 2018 at 3:57:40 PM CDT

Cc: m*******@amzrealty.com

Rolando,

I talked to Mike Cassel and he informed me that Chavez has completed the framing. He is going to pay you minus deductions to complete.

On Mar 21, 2018, at 3:25 PM, Lee Randolph ******@ubuildit.com wrote:

Mike,

I owe you a big apology. I called the plumber myself (should have done this in the first place). Bottom line is your pricing on the trenching is correct. I want you to have a good experience from this point on. Please contact me personally if you have any further issues. I will step in and help as I should have done this time.

Lower your standards if you plan on using Ubuild it.

Ubuildit is a franchise owned by Mike Robare of Robare Custom homes, Principal Custom Homes, and poorly managed by Lee Randolph. Prior to signing on with them you are swooned and promised help with the budget, contractors, etc. Once you sign up and give the initial deposit the swooning stops. The process is run by a bunch of former builders, and if one took time to think about I would speculate if these are such great builders why are they not building themselves during the busiest new home construction era. Our budget is done by Virgil Seidel a former builder as well. Virgil doesn't have the skillset to accurately budget these type of projects and the attitude that he does. At the time of this writing we are thirty thousand over budget, and when speaking with Lee Randolph the manager he chose to side with Virgil Seidel, and the office workers over the actual numbers and clients.

We haven't done anything not in the site plan, or in the plans in general that would cause such an error. After pushing back with Lee I was able to speak with Mike Robare owner of the Ubuild it franchise, Robare Custom Homes, and Principal custom Homes, who ultimately sided with Virgil Seidel and informed us that his employee was not off and that the items listed were allowances. He stated that I need to read the contract and they are not responsible for budget errors or really anything. So if you need to have rock trenching done Virgil Seidel will budget $1250 for 600ft when everyone else charges $ 7800-10k, and then say you don't know what you're talking about. The plans call for a wood look insulated garage door Virgil Seidel will get a quote and budget of $1400 steel door when the door in the Plan is over $3500. The plans called for Sola Tubes, and are in the plan Virgil Seidel left them out, and we're on the hook for $4,020. The driveway was quoted $3700 and cost $12,000. There are a number of other errors with regard to the budget, and I was told that this is a constant issue for them. You'll never know though because you cant review the bids before getting the loan or financing in order despite them stating you can.

Once we began construction we had many issues with the quality of work, and if you aren't one to push back you will get run over and given the runaround. The framer Rolando Martinez with RJ Construction took over 11 weeks and had to be terminated, he used a crew of 3 guys so incompetent that had us we retain and utilize a structural engineer to come out and inspect. Upon inspecting we learned that the way he constructed the home could have many failures. The framer Rolando Martinez with R&J Construction stated he works for Robare Custom Homes, and this was the way they did it for them, but he would correct the many issues that the engineer pointed out. We allowed him to continue only to discover he was correcting the issues incorrectly. At that point, we terminated him and hired a framer who came in and rectified the situation and got us back on track. The Cornice crew from R & J Construction that installed the windows installed them incorrectly, and we had to have them reinstalled and adjusted by the Pella installer. The plumber we hired seemed like a nice enough guy, but subbed out all of the top out construction, and had to come out numerous times to correct and add many missing items. It seems as though that's a trend with the contractors used with the Ubuild it process. The stone and stucco contractor Joel Espinosa with Espinosa Masonry was paid to do the stone and stucco and failed to pay his Masonry supplier who then placed a lien on the property. If choosing to use this company you need to get lean releases from all of their subs, and suppliers as most of the "vetted" contractors don't actually do any of the work themselves. I could never get a hold of the drywall recommended installer, the recommended painter, and many other contractors. I've noticed that Lee or someone with Ubuildit will reply and attempt to discount what's said here, but the facts are facts. If you use their contractors that "love" working with Ubuild it prepare to lower your quality standards unless you can push back, or have a contingency contractor to use, It is a constant battle to have them bring a quality product, show up for a full day or at all. If given the choice to build with Mike Robare owner of Robare Custom Homes, Ubuild it Schertz, and principal custom homes I would take a hard pass especially knowing the contractors they "recommend" are oversold and underdelivered. As other reviewers stated you need to Run away from them!

View full review
Loss:
$40000
Cons:
  • I thought we would get quality contractors
  • Flat out suck
  • Mike robares family violence assault arrest
Reason of review:
Not as described/ advertised
5 comments
Guest

These people are hard core scammers. Lawsuits up the ***

Guest

UBUILDIT is a ripoff. They get sued all of the time.

They just shut down one office and move across town. That's why there are so many different addresses for this tiny operation with just a few employees. The people that work there are scandalous, rude, and ignorant.

They are only good at lying and cheating. The owner is a crook.

Guest

How did you revolve this?

Guest
reply icon Replying to comment of Guest-1605607

It was never resolved! After everything is concluded we are out over 40k in budget errors and had to deviate from the original plan.

Guest
reply icon Replying to comment of Guest-1611602

Ubuildit stole my debit card number and kept charging me. I never could get them to fix the charges and my bank is fighting with them.

View more comments (4)
Carlos R Osg

Saving Money and Loving It

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

The team at UbuildIt Dallas has been fantastic. They consulted with us and walked us through all the steps of building our house; from design and budget to lending and now through construction.

They helped with all of the bidding and obtaining contractors and have been inspecting our project throughout the process to make sure it was done right. All we have had to do was schedule the work and pay the contractors. We were hesitant at first to go with ubuildit when we looked them up online, but Justin and his staff have been amazing. It's obvious 1 or 2 people trolled them online.

They are not a huge operation yet, but at the rate they are going they will be soon. They are very knowledgeable and they have not hesitated once to be up front with us on what to expect. My wife and I would recommend them to anyone and we would love to show off our home when we finish.

We are roughly 70% complete and cannot wait to move in!! The savings ubuildit allowed us to see have made it possible to do so much more.

View full review
Pros:
  • Professionalism and integrity of ubuildit
  • Price
  • What they said and what they did were identical
Reason of review:
Good quality
1 comment
Guest

Is there any way that I can get your address to see your home or email you to contact you for further information about your experience?

Anonymous
map-marker Oklahoma City Northwest, Oklahoma

Complete scam paid for some copy/paste bids

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
We started building last year Sept 2018. I had a bad feeling from the get go but was to eager to start building. I had a set budget of about $365k that well went through their estimate process. It was a little over than what i wanted to pay but i went with it. Next thing i know my loan was submitted and they wrote down $425k, when i asked about it, they responded its just to assure we get the full funding for the $365k so i said ok( big mistake). Then when everything was approved and i went to pickup my manual/bids, my budget was still at $425k, i asked about it and was told it was probably a mistake. So i kept going, sure enough all my bids in my manual were dead on with the 425k. So now im stuck with building a 425k house that i probably cant afford. Most of the bids are never checked through Ubuild it, Ive seen many that leave out extra cost like for foundation( fill sand was not included $1500 extra, piers for porch $900 extra, etc.. it adds up quick, another example my paint $11k to paint the house and exterior trim, ( extras painting extrerior siding$1500, painting extra woodwork for closets $1200,etc...). The list goes on and on Throught this build its been a complete mess with the budget with nothing but an "im sorry", and if i dont pay they'll put a lean on my house. Im currently working with an attorney to file for a breach of contract.
View full review
Reason of review:
Pricing issue
2 comments
Guest

All of the UBUILDIT locations are scams. I got burnt by the Dallas and Mckinney Texas locations. What a bunch of crooks.

Guest
reply icon Replying to comment of Guest-1704141

The McKinney office would love to here from you because our clients call us if there is an issue. 469-342-****

View more comments (1)
Anonymous
map-marker Mckinney, Texas

Great Experience

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
I had a great experience with UbuildIt. They are not home builders. They helped give me all the resources I needed in order to build my own home. They also provided me with bids and quotes from people in their network, but it is MY choice who I hire and I don't have to use anyone in their network. I used some of my own contacts. I was able to use my own architect as well. I liked having total control over which materials I purchased and which contractors I chose to hire for each phase of construction. My project manager was very helpful throughout the building process and showed up on site several times. My wife and I are talking about using this service again to build investment properties.
View full review
Iris E Diy
map-marker Longview, Texas

Ripped off-

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
I contracted with Glen Cook, U-Build-It, Tyler, Texas, to build a home for me on a lot I had previously purchased outside Flint, Texas. My mistake was in trusting this man to do what he said he would do. Right now I am way over budget with an unfinished house. He also changed many things I requested in my plan without checking with me. Such as, making my 2 car garage a single, decreasing the amount of square footage. Refusing to complete the screen porch. Among many other problems. He is a fraud, liar and thief. I still have no kitchen, no bathrooms, no flooring, no light fixtures, and none of the interior doors will close. No doorknobs either!! Tomorrow I am meeting with another builder to see what it will cost me to complete this house. My dream of a nice little retirement home has been turned into a nightmare by Glen Cook, U-Build-It, Tyler, Texas
View full review
Loss:
$50
Cons:
  • Unknowledgeable
  • Contract scam
  • Lied
Reason of review:
Poor customer service

Preferred solution: Let the company propose a solution

Mason b Wse
map-marker Olathe City, Kansas

Pissed neighbor

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

Watched these guys quote 6 month turn around for my neighbor. Looking at almost 18 mo now and still not done.

They changed the landscape and *** erosion control throughout the process. My property gets flooded and covered in mud every time it rains now, and the culvert under the driveway is 10ft above the road!

The driveway isn't to city code and the house was exposed to the elements for 11 mo before it was weathered in sheet rock and all. Good luck with these clowns.

View full review
Reason of review:
Poor planning and inconsideration for neighbors.
1 comment
Christopher B Kqi

Watch out for Scott White and Justin Schultz. They are the "corporate managers".

Based out of Oklahoma and Texas. Both were fired from Home Depot...that tells you something about their skill level. They lie and cheat like there is no tomorrow.

These criminals should be locked up. UBUILDIT = SCAM

Anonymous
map-marker Southeast Jefferson, Kentucky

WORST EXPERIENCE OF MY LIFE

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

2017-**** AND STILL DEALING WITH ISSUES AFTER LIVING IN THE HOME FOR OVER 6 MONTHS! WORST EXPERIENCE OF MY LIFE!!!!!

If you are looking to build a home and you've come across UBuild-IT ....... KEEP LOOKING!! We built a home recently and it was such a horrible experience. It took over 18 months to complete.

The onsite presence was minimal, customer service was aggressive and rude (this is being kind)! I even contacted the higher ups with UBuild-IT to complain and look for help. Her response "Good Luck to you" We have had issues with invoices not being turned in, basically had to call and hound sub contractors to come back and complete projects. Our furnace was installed ......

and I'm not kidding they cut a 3x3 rectangular hole in the bottom. Not only did I have to bring this to the UBuild-It agent's attention more than once but other subcontractors brought it to their attention as well and still nothing was done. We would go weeks and months without anything being done to the home! Sometimes subcontractors would just show up and start work without us even being aware or being able to talk to them about what we wanted.

We had items stolen from the site from contractors, incomplete work, etc!

The UBuild-It agent was either MIA or extremely rude, aggressive, and incredibly unprofessional! For your sanity I absolutely do not recommend use of this organization!!

View full review
Reason of review:
Poor customer service
1 comment
Guest

These Ubuildit people are *** I know their lead designer/architect Saydi Hunter. For the record, she ain't a licensed architect.

She's breaking the law claiming to be one. She's just some dumb millennial with no experience in home design or custom home building. She barely graduated from a 2nd rate college with a 3rd rate degree.

If Ubuildit designed your home, it will never be close to budget or done on time. Too many design and structural issues thanks to incompetent designers like Saydi Hunter.

About

Summary

UBuildit is a private corporation which was established in 1988. Its founder is Chuck Warrender. It was he who got the idea to create a consulting firm to help people save money by facilitating and managing the construction of their own homes. Warrender's concept for this company was to use his knowledge of the construction industry to guide an inexperienced first-time builder to become his or her own general contractor. After spending nine years developing a system, Warrender gave his company the UBuildit title, and in 1998 decided to nationally franchise his system. As of December, 2012, UBuildit has 26 Franchises in 11 states and is owned by Bob Braudrick. Headquarters of UBuildit is located in Edmomd, Oklahoma.

Ubuildit reviews and complaints

Ubuildit is ranked 22 out of 394 in Home Builders category

Area Served

USA

Payment Methods

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content
  • PissedConsumer is on the Inc. 5000 list

For more information read Blog article